Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Clarification of travel permissions for residents of border bubble shires

Council & Infrastructure / News & Community Feedback / News and Information / Media Releases

Our News by Year

Clarification of travel permissions for residents of border bubble shires

Image of blue spiky balls representing Covid virus2 January 2021

Bega Valley Shire Council wishes to clarify the current cross-border travel permissions for residents of border communities in Victoria and New South Wales following the recent closure of the Victoria/New South Wales border.

People who live in a border community who have not left the border area in the last 14 days can travel to another border community in the ‘border bubble’ without a permit. This means that anyone who is a resident of a Victorian border community is able to travel to a NSW border community to holiday or work, and residents of the Bega Valley and other NSW border communities who wish to travel to a Victorian border community can do so.

You must carry valid photo identification that shows your current address, such as a drivers’ licence, as evidence that you reside in an exempt border community. Once you have reached your intended border community, you cannot travel out of it unless you are returning home. Victorians who travel beyond the border bubble into greater NSW cannot return to Victoria without a permit for 14 days.

It is strongly recommended you take proof of where you are staying as you may be asked for this.

Residents of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) do not require permission to enter the border bubble or to re-enter the ACT after doing so.  

Council strongly recommends that all residents and visitors check the latest rules before travelling.

Residents of the following border communities (local government areas) are exempt from needing a permit to travel within the border bubble across the two states:


Alpine Valley, Benalla, Bendigo, Buloke, Campaspe, East Gippsland, Gannawarra, Indigo, Loddon, Mildura, Moira, Shepparton, Swan Hill, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga, Yarriambiack.


Albury City, Balranald, Bega Valley, Berrigan, Broken Hill, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume, Hay, Lockhart, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valley, Wagga Wagga, Wentworth.


NSW Health


Victorian Department of Health & Human Services


ACT Health


You can also contact the NSW COVID-19 Support Line on 1800 318 248 for further advice.

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site