Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Weed Management Plans

Have Your Say

Under Section 371 (1) (b) of the Biosecurity Act 2015 Functions of local control authority (Council) are to “develop, implement, co-ordinate and review weed control programs”

In reference to the South East Strategic Weeds Management Plan and its overarching weed risk assessment outcomes and recommendations this assists the local council to “fine tune” localised weed control outcomes.

Weed risk assessments ( WRA’s), mapping of incursions, records and potential high risk pathway inspections have been carried out and collated over many years by weeds officers which has enabled WRA’s to be assessed  at a localised level.

As a result of this already large investment, some of the Valleys widespread weeds also have a potential impact on a locality level within the region.

These weeds have been drafted into Bega Valley Shire Local Weed Management Plan which  recognises the principles and priorities of South East Strategic Weeds Management Plan outlining 8 priority weeds found in the Bega Valley and the measures  to be taken to discharge public and private landholders Biosecurity Duty

These  8 local management programs listed below are based on local risk, impact and feasibility of control.

  1. Serrated Tussock (Nassella trichotoma)
  2. African Love Grass (Eragrostis curvula)
  3. St John’s Wort (Hypericum perforatum)
  4. Gorse (Ulex europaeus)
  5. Chilean Needle Grass (Nassella neesiana)
  6. Crofton Weed (Ageratina adenophora)
  7. Sagittaria (Sagittaria platyphylla)
  8. Blackberry (Rubus fruticosus spp aggregate.

The draft Local Weed Management Plan is placed on public exhibition for a period of not less than 28 days commencing Friday 11 May 2018  ending Friday 8 June 2018.

Document on Exhibition

Email Council with your
Have Your Say


Related Pages

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site