Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Public Fund Rules

Download Rules (pdf)

Clause 1:

Bega Valley Shire Council (BVSC) in partnership with Social Justice Advocates of the Sapphire Coast have established the Bega Valley Community Disaster Relief Fund (the Fund) to accept donations, to assist residents who have been affected by events that have significant community impact/natural disasters.

Clause 2:

The Fund will distribute funds for relief of residents who are directly impacted/affected by a natural disaster as agreed by the committee.

Clause 3:

This is a perpetual fund that will accept financial donations at any time to assist those impacted by disaster events in the Bega Valley.

Clause 4:

All funds distributed can only be used to assist those impacted/affected by natural disasters in the Bega Valley local government area.

BVSC and SJA will not use any funds donated for any administration or other non-charitable purposes. All funds donated will only be used for the purposes as detailed in clause 4.1.]

Clause 5:

All funds received will be distributed by Social Justice Advocates of the South Coast directly to residents adversely affected by a natural disaster through a specific grant or program.

Clause 6:

The Fund will utilise the Disaster Relief Fund bank account established by Social Justice Advocates of the Sapphire Coast. The fund will be governed by the Bega Valley Community Disaster Relief

Fund Management Committee as described in the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between Social Justice Advocates of the South Coast and Bega Valley Shire Council.

Account Name: SJA Disaster Relief Fund
BSB: 633000
Account Number: 171166317

Clause 7:

Reconciliations and accounts will be prepared for the Fund monthly to ensure that all monies are correctly accounted for and used for the purposes detailed in these public fund rules, and detailed statements will be prepared in the event the fund is wound up.

Clause 8:

Tax receipts will be issued in the name of the SJA Disaster Relief Fund.

Clause 9:

Eligibility criteria will be developed for each event.

Clause 10:

The management committee will identify the areas of greatest need for financial assistance in helping impacted residents recover from the effects of a natural disaster.

Clause 11:

The ATO, Charities Commission, Department of Fair Trading and any other governing agency will be notified of any decision made by the management committee to change the fund rules within twenty-one days.


Related Pages

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site