Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Coastal Zone Management

Bega Valley Shire’s Coastal Zone Program is aimed at protecting the Shires most valuable natural asset – the coast. Incorporating the former coastal and estuary management programs, the coastal zone program is delivered through a variety of research, planning, educational and on ground projects and activities. Click on one of the following to find out more...

The natural facts……….

Bega Valley coastline.

Bega Valley Shires coastal zone comprises the following natural features;

  • Shires coastline is 225km in length -1/8 of the NSW coastline
  • 101 ocean beaches
  • 29 estuaries
  • 400km of estuarine foreshore
  • 121 SEPP wetlands, with a combined area of 2753 hectares
  • 8 Endangered Ecological Communities occur within the coastal zone
  • Shire’s coastline is the meeting of 2 marine Bio-regions. The Twofold Shelf and Batemans Shelf Bioregions meet just south of Tathra

the pressures……….

  • 5 of the Shires 6 major settlements occur within coastal zone (Bermagui, Tathra, Merimbula /Tura, Pambula / Pambula Beach, Eden)
  • 50% of the Shires population lives within 1.5km of the coast or 1km of an estuary

Related Pages

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site