Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

About the Bega Valley Shire

Images of the bega valley shire.

The Bega Valley Shire (also known as the Sapphire Coast) is located at the south-eastern extremity of coastal NSW, Australia. The Shire is predominantly rural, with many townships and villages.

Land is used primarily for conservation and timber production. The next biggest land use is agriculture, particularly dairy farming. Fishing, oyster harvesting, tourism and retail are also important industries.

The unique coastline abounds in deserted beaches, tranquil rainforests, serene rivers and lakes, and picturesque mountain backdrops. This is a land of natural beauty, abundant wildlife, cultural diversity, and great food and wine.

Map of the Bega Valley Shire.


  • Population: 32,956
  • Growth per annum: 1.24 per cent (over 10 years)
  • Area: 6,040 square kilometres (3,753 square miles)
    • 78 per cent national park or state forest
    • 2,000 ha of Council owned or managed public reserve
    • 22 per cent rateable land
  • Towns: Bega, Merimbula, Pambula, Eden, Tathra, Bermagui
  • Villages: Bemboka, Cobargo, Candelo, Wyndham, Quaama, Wolumla, Pambula Beach
  • Coastline: 225 km (139.8 miles)
    • 101 ocean beaches
    • 26 estuaries
  • Employment: 10,871
  • Unemployment: 4.7 per cent
  • Businesses: 2,862
  • Largest employer: Retail trade (1,942)
  • Largest industry:
    • by value added: Manufacturing  (A$143 million)
    • by output: Manufacturing (A$702 million)
  • Home ownership/mortgage:  69.9 per cent
  • English speaking only: 82.8 per cent
  • Bachelor or higher degree:  10.6 per cent

Towns within the Bega Valley Shire


Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site