Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Environment zones to be renamed conservation zones

Council & Infrastructure / News & Community Feedback / News and Information / Media Releases

Our News by Year

Environment zones to be renamed conservation zones

Farm land.

24 November 2021

The NSW Government is renaming ‘environment zones’ to ‘conservation zones’ in all standardised local environmental plans across the state.

From 1 December, all references to the environment protection zones or environment zones will be changed to the equivalent conservation zones in applicable documents.

The change will affect four environment zones as listed below.

Current name

New name

Zone E1 – National Parks and Nature Reserves

Zone C1 – National Parks and Nature Reserves

Zone E2 – Environmental Conservation

Zone C2 – Environmental Conservation

Zone E3 – Environmental Management

Zone C3 – Environmental Management

Zone E4 – Environmental Living

Zone C4 – Environmental Living

Bega Valley Shire Council will, over the next few months, update plans, forms and documents to reflect the new names.

If you own land that is an Environment Protection Zone, copies of planning documents relating to your land will be changed to refer to the relevant Conservation Zone.

Importantly, change is in name only, and the new zone name does not change landowner’s development rights, permissible land use activities or existing development consents.

If your property is listed within a heritage conservation area, this change in name does not alter that listing. If your property is not listed, it remains unlisted.

For more information about the name change, contact the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment at

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site