BEGA VALLEY MEDALLION COMMITTEE

1. Present

Chairperson: Cr Kristy McBain, Mayor

Lori Hammerton, Committee Member

Cheryl McCarthy, Committee Member

In Attendance: Ms Kelly McDowall, Ms Janelle Curtis, Executive Assistants

The Chairperson declared the meeting open at 11.10 pm

2. Apologies

There were no apologies.

3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The committee confirmed the minutes of the meeting held 15 March 2017.

4.1 2018 Bega Valley Community Service Medallion Nominations

Resolved on the motion of Lori Hammerton, seconded Cheryl McCarthy

 That the following persons be recommended to Council to receive a Bega Valley Community Service Medallion in 2018 and that after the matter is reported to Council the nominators and awardees be contacted:

First Name	Surname
Stuart	Alcock
Glenn	Cotter
Geoff	Dove
Lance	Hartley
Brigitte	Kestermann
Marianne	Kramp
Ned	Roberts
Arthur (Butch)	Robinson
Lyn	Slater
Sandra	Symons
Kristina	Walker
Wendy	Ramage

2. That the following action be taken in regard to nominations received that were not selected to receive a Bega Valley Community Service Medallion:

First Name	Surname	Decision of the Committee
Tracey	Campbell	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Kristy McBain
Rosalind and Gordon	Butt	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Kristy McBain
Greg	Holland	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Lori Hammerton
Fergus	McWhirter	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Lori Hammerton
Anna	Wilson	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Cheryl McCarthy
Ken	Coulter	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Cheryl McCarthy
Phil	Brown	Letter to advise additional information required for submission next year. Committee member will contact to advise requirements. Action: Cheryl McCarthy

- 3. That the Executive Assistant draft a letter ,for the Mayor's signature, to the family of Ms Norma Allen to note her contribution to the Beg Valley Medallion Committee since its inception in 2000 and the committee's appreciation be noted in its recommendation to Council.
- 4. That the committee recommend to Council that the presentation of the Bega Valley Medallion Awards allow adequate time for the recipients to make a brief thank you speech.

5. New Business

5.1 New Committee Members

The Committee agreed :

- 1. That Lori Hammerton will contact the two persons who expressed an interest in joining the committee, Mrs Judith Reid and Mrs Mary Williams and encourage them to submit the volunteer forms provided by the Executive Assistance.
- 2. That the Mayor will encourage nominations for the Bega Valley Community Service Medallion Committee during the presentation ceremony.

Closure

There being no further business, the Chairperson closed the meeting at 12.00 noon.

Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held at a date to be set by agreement of the Committee, in March 2019.