Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Our News by Year

Citizen of the Year nominations

Friday 2 October 2015

Nominations for the 2016 Citizen of the Year have opened and Bega Valley Shire Council is calling on people to recognise the efforts of friends, neighbours, colleagues and family.

The Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year (under 25s) awards will be presented on Australia Day 2016, followed by the Bega Valley Senior of the Year (over 65s) presented at the annual Golden Gig during Senior’s Week in March 2016.

Last year the calibre of applications resulted double recognition in both Citizen and Young Citizen of the year. Mrs Marie Smith and Ms Janita Fernando were recognised alongside two Young Citizen winners Ms Imogen Pittolo and Ms Kalidevi Samuels-Connell.

Mayor Michael Britten said individuals are being sought for nominations from the community to recognise outstanding people.

“It’s a highlight of the year to present these special awards on Australia Day to recognise these outstanding achievers and community champions for their hard work and determination in enriching the social fabric of the shire.

“It was also an honour to present a joint award during Seniors Week to our Seniors of the Year, John and Jan Aveyard, for their long term commitment to the community and their active involvement in multiple community organisations in the Shire.

“The awards are a great way to honour those who work hard to make our community a better place; those that quietly and selflessly help others,” he said.

Nominations should include information about a person’s service to the community or of a distinguished performance over the past 12 months.

To nominate someone visit Council’s website, e-mail or deliver nominations to any Council office by 14 November.

For more information please contact the Executive Assistant on 6499 2104.

Photographs: Last Year’s Winners; Janita Fernando, Marie Smith, Imogen Pittolo, Kalidevi Samuels-Connell


Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site