Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Our News by Year

New Council welcomed

Bega Valley Shire Council building

21 December 2021

Bega Valley Shire Council congratulates the successful candidates in this year’s Local Government Elections.

Acting CEO, Anthony McMahon welcomed the incoming Councillors and thanked the outgoing Councillors for their dedication and commitment over the last five years.

“I’d like to congratulate all of the successful candidates and welcome new Councillors Helen O’Neil, Karen Wright, David Porter and Joy Robin to Council,” Mr McMahon said.

“Representing and advocating for the needs and wants of our community, as well as balancing those needs and wants against the limitations of budgets and resourcing, is a challenging but rewarding task.

“I’d also like to thank returning Councillors Russell Fitzpatrick, Tony Allen, Cathy Griff, Mitch Nadin and Liz Seckold who were re-appointed for a further term, for giving up their time yet again to support the community.

“I’m looking forward to seeing what can be achieved over this next term of Council.

“I would also like to thank outgoing Councillors Jo Dodds and Robyn Bain—both of whom chose not to stand for re-election—for their service, leadership and dedication throughout the last term of Council.”

The new Councillors for the Bega Valley Shire, announced by the NSW Electoral Commission on 21 December 2021, are:

  • Helen O’Neil
  • Karen Wright
  • Russell Fitzpatrick
  • Tony Allen
  • Cathy Griff
  • Mitch Nadin
  • David Porter
  • Liz Seckold
  • Joy Robin.

The first official meeting of the new Council will be held on Tuesday 11 January 2022 and will include the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, and Councillor representation on Council’s various committees.

A comprehensive induction program will also be undertaken to ensure Councillors have a detailed understanding of the legal and policy framework, the challenges facing the local government sector, and the unique challenges and opportunities for our shire.

Due to the extension of the last term of Council by the Office of Local Government, the new term of Council will be two years and nine months, ending in September 2024, rather than the usual four years.

From 2024, the Bega Valley Shire will have a popularly elected Mayor, after almost 73% of voters voted in favour of this change.

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site