Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Our News by Year

Citizen of the Year nominations

Wednesday 12 October 2016

Nominations have opened for the 2017 Citizen, Young Citizen (under 25s) and Senior Citizen (over 65s) of the Year awards and Bega Valley Shire Council is calling on people to recognise the efforts of friends, neighbours, colleagues and family.

The 2016 Citizen of the year was Philip Moffitt and the calibre of applications for Young Citizen of the year resulted in double recognition for James Bower-Scott and Hannah Fernandez.

Bega Valley Shire Mayor, Cr Kristy McBain said that people are being sought for nominations from the community to recognise outstanding achievements.

“It’s a highlight of the year to present these special awards on Australia Day, and to recognise these outstanding achievers and community champions for their hard work and determination in enriching the social fabric of the shire.

“The awards are a great way to honour those who work hard to make our community a better place; those who quietly and selflessly help others,” she said.

The 2016 Senior of the Year was awarded during Seniors Week as part of the Golden Gig Concert. The joint recipients this year were Brian Richards and Eileen Cameron who were recognised for their long term commitment to the community and their active involvement in multiple community organisations across the Shire.

Nominations should include information about a person’s service to the community or of a distinguished performance over the past 12 months.

All awards will be presented on Australia Day 2017.

To nominate someone visit Council’s website, e-mail or deliver nominations to any Council office by 1 November 2016.

For more information please contact Council’s Events Officer, Tamara Whiting on 6499 2394.


Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site