Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Our News by Year

Council election this Saturday

Image saying Your Council, your life, your vote.Thursday, 8 September 2016

Almost 23,000 eligible voters will go to the polls this Saturday (Sept 10) to shape the future of Bega Valley Shire Council.

“The nine people elected to Council will set the strategic direction of the organisation for the next four years,” General Manager Leanne Barnes said.

“Councillors establish the key priorities for the organisation, so this election is one of the big opportunities the community has to influence the direction for our services, programs and budgets,” Ms Barnes said.

Everyone on the Electoral Roll needs to vote, the penalty is a $55 fine.

Polling places will be open between 8am and 6pm on Saturday and include:There are a number of pre-poll voting options across the Shire:

  • Bega High School
  • Bega Valley Public School
  • Bemboka Memorial Hall
  • Bermagui Community Centre
  • Brogo Hall
  • Candelo Town Hall
  • Cobargo School of Arts
  • Eden Marine High School
  • Merimbula Public School
  • Pambula Public School
  • Quaama School of Arts
  • Sapphire Coast Bridge Club, old Tura Beach Shops
  • Tanja Public School
  • Tathra Public School
  • Towamba Public School
  • Wolumla Memorial Hall
  • Wyndham Public Hall
  • Sydney Town Hall

It’s important to note that if you will be outside the Shire on Saturday you need to pre-poll vote; absentee voting is not available in a Local Government Election.

There are a number of pre-poll voting options across the Shire:

  • Bega Valley Shire Council - Zingel Place Office
    until Friday 9 September, open 9am-5pm
  • NSW Electoral Commission office, Moruya, 39 Vulcan Street
    open Thursday 8 September  8:30am – 5:30pm and Friday 9 September 8:30am – 6pm
  • Twyford Hall, Merimbula
    until Friday 9 September, 9am – 4:30pm
  • Bermagui Community Centre
    until Friday 9 September, 9am – 4:30pm
  • Eden Library
    until Friday 9 September, 9am – 4:30pm

Voters need to at least number five boxes on their ballot paper, but can number as many candidates as they like after that in order of preference.

The NSW Electoral Commission has established a Virtual Tally Room, which will be live from 6.00pm on Election Day for results

Locals will be able to follow the count via the Vote NSW website.

“We will have a sense of the make-up of the new Council on Saturday night, but the Electoral Commission advises us, that the official result isn’t expected to be declared until Friday September 16,” Ms Barnes said.

Anyone needing further information is asked to call the NSW Electoral Commission on 1300 135 736 or visit the Vote NSW website.

New Councillors will come together for the first time on 21 September for the start of their induction, a cost and responsibility Bega Valley Shire Council is sharing with Eurobodalla Shire Council.

“The first official Council meeting in the new term will be September 28 and will include the election of the Mayor and Chairs of Council’s various committees,” Ms Barnes said.

“One change implemented by the State Government is that the term of the Mayor has been extended from one year to two years for Mayors elected by Councillors.”

Bega Valley Shire Council is one of 81 councils around New South Wales going the polls this Saturday.

Photo: NSW Electoral Commission logo for 2016 Local Government Election

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site